top of page

People of Tbilisi : Davit Kurkhuli


Few people growing up with a multitude of aspirations truly ascribe to their dreams and go through with them. Most succumb to the desires of this unforgiving world, and push to the wayside their hopes, along with the motivation to ever pick up on them again. But not Davit Kurkhuli.



Davit is one of those rare individuals who's pursued his dreams with unwavering determination. Growing up amidst the turmoil of Georgia's infamous 90s, Davit witnessed the atrocities committed by paramilitary group Mkhedrioni. These experiences, alongside his diverse career choices, have played an indefinable role in shaping the person he is today.


Born in 1986, Davit is perhaps one of the few people who appreciated the importance of education at a time clouded with a myriad of other concerns. In the year 2003, he commenced his studies in Business Management that would soon snowball into courses in Masters in Finance, and an ever-increasing interest in computers and IT.


Despite having a well-to-do family as his backbone throughout this study period, he always longed to have a little something of his own earning to support his whims, and thus began his first job among many to come – a hotel janitor at Sheraton Metekhi Palace.


With the mere title of a janitor coloring his resume, Davit defied the odds and became the CEO of three different companies. He has also served as a policeman. While his occupations varied greatly, his patriotism towards his country always shone through. He currently serves as an exam center manager at Tbilisi State Medical University.


"I am in the military's self-defense reserve. It is more than a mere obligation on me. It is a debt I repay to my country," he says. “I am contributing to society. In times of any natural disaster, we stand ready to help the regions. In my case, it's Kakheti."

NOT MANY TO REMEMBER BUT PLENTY TO FORGET – child to parents’ who’d witnessed the pinnacle of Mkhedrioni’s delinquencies, a perturbed Davit reflects upon the multiple episodes that stain the otherwise glorious history of Georgia. He laments the resolution of such disturbances through war and killings when peace could have easily been restored through diplomatic conversations.


“It was a little before 1995. The walls of my apartment had been shot thrice, and yet, we kids dreamt of being like them. We desired their luxurious cars and glamour, because ours was the generation that stood barefoot in queues to collect bread for our livelihood. Those are tragic moments I do not want to think of, but we cannot let your generation forget. We cannot allow those days to return. It has to be enough… your generation has to accomplish tranquility through diplomacy.”

In spite of its dark history, there is nowhere else he’d rather be. He confesses sheepishly that the old-town splendor of Bayburt, Turkey could not outdo the simple pleasures of visiting the lush, wide fields of Sagarejo on the outskirts of Kakheti. Its wild, yet serene beauty, further exalted by the presence of his family at his side. He says:


“It is not about the place, but rather the people that are with me... the best and most memorable places are the ones you’ve been to with your children, family, and friends. They create an environment wherein you feel comfortable and loved.”

Davit, unchagrined by his lack of travel, states that he has always been a ‘home-buddy’, and that some day he wishes to visit the undulating landscapes and revel in the history of Tibet.


He smiles with unmasked joy as a memory of a recent visit to the Monastery of Davit Gareji resurfaces. Having stepped onto its holy ground with his son, he speaks of the spiritual prayers they invoked, and the precious experiences they gathered that day. He conveniently attaches little undue significance to any one person. In light of his ardent affection for his family, it is the people who shared these moments of joy with him that he holds closest to heart.


“Maybe I fancy some of my colleagues over others; regardless, my attitude towards them all is the same,” he says. “My friends, mates who baptized my children, comrades who fought with me on the same field, and those who I adventured with….. However, my biggest priorities are my children, and my beautiful wife who gifted them to me.”

A pious, orthodox, Christian, Davit believes it is incorrect to place our trust in ‘fate’. He holds that a person cannot change what has already been destined for them. All the same, the thought of unchanging destinies does not hinder him from dreaming big. His fantasies carry him through the fast-paced world of racing, IT jobs at the Silicon Valley, and to being a scientist at CERN.


“If those are dreams, however, let them be. Life has taught me that rose-tinted glasses seldom do one any good. I am a more realistic person, and at my age … there is no time for games. God wanted this for me, so here I am – serving my country and my family. However, everything should be done either for oneself, or to fulfill their obligation. Not for showing-off. So, if these respects conflict, I will leave my position, because I am, after all, a person of my own free will,” he smiles ruefully.


At the core of Davit’s essence lies a compassionate, warm-hearted man. His laid-back approach to life stems, perhaps, from having witnessed the consequences of hurried, unthinking acts. His devotion to his religion, country, and family, render me incapable of encompassing his nature in mere words. The greatest takeaway from Davit ’s story is this – “let our aspirations never become a reflection of our limits.”


With love, From People of Tbilisi Team, at The Exclusive.

Sarah Fathima, Nino Khelidze, Karthik Kumar, and Arun Venkiteswaran.

Comentários


bottom of page